signing_of_mcaThe Independent Municipal and Allied Trade Union (IMATU), together with other members of the South African Local Government Bargaining Council (SALGBC), signed the Main Collective Agreement in Durban, yesterday afternoon.

“The Main Collective Agreement extends from 01 July 2015 to 30 June 2020. This agreement will be in place for five years and thereafter indefinitely, until a new agreement is signed to replace the current one. The Main Collective Agreement covers the following areas, in which a number of improvements have been made; conditions of service, organisational rights, grievance procedure, exemptions from the collective agreement, levels of bargaining, rules for conciliation and arbitration proceedings,” explained IMATU Deputy General Secretary, Craig Adams.

IMATU, one of only two trade unions authorised to collectively bargain in the Local Government sector, ensured that members’ conditions of service and organisational rights were maintained, with monetary improvements being agreed regarding the housing allowance and procedural improvements being made to the grievance procedure.

“While the negotiation process has been long and arduous, we believe that this Main Collective Agreement ensures continuity and provides a clear way forward for implementation,” concluded Adams.